Why Star Trek Inspires Me

For starters, my name is Trula and I’m 22 years old. Yes, I am a Star Trek fan-girl. At the risk of sounding like a real Trekkie, the stories and characters of Star Trek inspire me. They inspire me to live for something bigger than myself and to go forward boldly, even if things may be scary or I don’t know what’s going to happen next. Star Trek inspires me to not be afraid of taking chances. And ya know what, I have every reason to believe all that.

You see, I am not just a Star Trek fan. I am firstly a follower of Jesus Christ. I believe fully in the sovereignty and love of God Almighty, Maker of heaven and earth and all those unexplored galaxies.

I like how in Star Trek, Captain Kirk isn’t afraid to take a chance even if the odds are against him. Though he may have no idea what the outcome of his decision will be, he goes forward anyway.

Knowing that I have a God that sees outside of time and space and tenderly cares for all the details of my life, why should I be afraid? Why should I fear stepping out in faith, even into the unknown? God holds every thing together. That includes all the scary decisions we have to make, all the hard times we’ll face, and all the times we’ll have to start over.

In a roundabout way, the Christian life is a lot like a Star Trek episode: Full of adventure, unknown paths ahead of us, battles against evil forces and temptations, seeking out a world that is better than our own, and living for something that’s beyond ourselves. I guess that’s why Star Trek inspires me!

Live long and prosper,

Trula

1511675_10202359235156447_1830897975_n

4 comments

  1. J.W. Kurtz · October 16, 2014

    Star Trek inspires me because the idea of being away from this planet for 5-years or more is exciting! Sign me up!

  2. patchingcracks · October 16, 2014

    Love this! Great post! Great connection between Star Trek and walking with Jesus. Awesome.

Leave a Reply

