“I am a Vulcan”

Last night I watched Star Trek: The Original Series “Operation: Annihilate!” (Season 1, Episode 29). Spock was attacked by an unknown single celled organism that attached its stingers to the victims spine, resulting in intense pain and eventually mind control. Because Spock is a Vulcan, he maintained the notion that “pain is a thing of the mind; The mind can be controlled.” Laying in sickbay, he said to himself, “I am a Vulcan. There is no pain.” Soon he was able to control the pain, rather than it controlling him.

Tomorrow I am going on an evangelism outreach at the Texas State Fair to share my faith with others. I know that though I am eager to be a witness for Christ, I will eventually be tempted by the enemy to give into fear. I thought about Spock and how he chose to bring the pain under his control, rather than allowing the pain to control him. And how did he do that? He declared who he was and refused to give in.

As children of God, fear is not a realistic factor to be given into. “For God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind.” (2 Timothy 1:17, NKJV)

Fear is a deception from the enemy, no matter how real it may feel to us. Being who we are in Christ, fear is not something that we should ever give into or base decisions off of. Fear can only control as much of us as we allow it to.

Just like how Spock declared who he was and brought the pain under his control, so can we declare who we are in Christ and bring fear under control by the Power of the Holy Spirit.

So here’s my experiment: Tomorrow I am going to the Texas State Fair to share my faith with complete strangers! When feelings of fear creep up, instead of giving into them, I am going to repeat to myself who I am in Christ and rebuke fearful thinking in Jesus’ name. I’ll let you know how it goes!

Live long and prosper,

Trula

HorizLaser01

One comment

  1. patchingcracks · October 17, 2014

    Another awesome Star Trek/christianity analogy. Thanks for this post.

Leave a Reply

