How Star Trek Helped Me Share My Faith

Today I went to the Canton Trade Days, which is basically a Texas-sized garage sale… or more like a festival of junk. Because it is the day after Halloween, I figured it would still be socially acceptable to wear my Star Trek shirt, black pants, and black boots. I was walking along with my friends when suddenly I heard a man yell, “Live long and prosper!” I spun around to see who the voice was coming from. I saw an older man with a big grin on his face, making the sign of the Vulcan salute. I, being a true Trekkie, saluted back and yelled, “Live long and prosper!” He then asked me if I knew where the Vulcan salute originated from. I proudly chimed off, “Yes, I do! It represents the Hebrew letter ‘shin’, which stands for the name of God, El Shaddai.” “Very good,” he responded. “I am a Star Trek fan and I am Jewish.”

Because I have an interest in both Star Trek and Judaism, I was able to quickly and effortlessly strike up a conversation with him, which opened the door for me to share the Gospel! I was able to talk with him about how Jesus, the Son of God, fulfilled all Messianic prophecies and He paid the price for our sins.

How cool is it that I got to share the Gospel with someone, all because I wore my Star Trek shirt? This really encourages me to not just use big outreach events or mission trips to share the faith, but to use every area of my life, even the seemingly unimportant, to bring the message of salvation to all mankind.

I hope this encourages you as you also seek to share your faith in Jesus!

Live long and prosper,

Trula

1800348_10204107481381510_649698364005172214_n

 

HorizLaser01

4 comments

  1. patchingcracks · November 2, 2014

    Awesome post! First, it’s awesome that you go garage sale shopping in an original series uniform. Second, that you used it as an opportunity to share Christ is even more awesome. Thanks for sharing this.

  2. patchingcracks · November 2, 2014

    Also, its good to see another post from this blog! Really enjoy your writing.

  3. Planting Potatoes · November 17, 2014

    God gives us so many opportunities to be witnesses for him – it is a blessing that you are so prepared!

Leave a Reply

