Illogical Desires

I’ve noticed lately that I’ve come down with a case of the “wants.” There’s always something that I want and I’m not satisfied until I get it (clothes, movies, Star Trek collectibles, etc.). Sometimes I’ll waste hours of my time scavenging the internet for the best deals. I’ve been filling my life with meaningless stuff, rather than what that truly matters. The Lord has convicted me about this area of my life. Last Sunday, He showed me this verse,

“On that Day the heavens will disappear with a roar, the elements will melt and disintegrate, and the earth and everything in it will be burned up. Since everything is going to be destroyed like this, what kind of people should you be?” – 2 Peter 2:10-11 (CJB)

As followers of Jesus we are called to live like Jesus, and Jesus always lived with eternity in mind. That doesn’t mean we’re not allowed to have nice things, but knowing that those nice things are just going to burn up eventually, they should never be the focus of our life. Our focus should be on Jesus Christ and His kingdom, the one thing that will last forever.

In Star Trek: The Original Series (S2, E1), Amok Time, Spock said to a younger, less experienced Vulcan, “After a time you may find that having is not so pleasing a thing, after all, as wanting. It is not logical, but it is often true.”

Have you ever noticed how once you get something you’ve wanted for a long time, pretty soon after, you want something else? And then after that you want another thing, and another thing, and you’re never truly satisfied? Like what Spock said, it seems like getting what you want should make you happy but, oddly enough, it doesn’t.

With all that in mind I am challenged to repent of my materialism and put God first in my life. He has promised to care for our needs and help us when we choose to seek His kingdom, rather than worldly desires (Matt. 6:33). I want to chase after something that isn’t going to leave me empty and hungry for more. I want to invest in a kingdom that will never end. I want to give my life for the Man who gave His life for me.

Live Long and Prosper,

Trula

HorizLaser01

Leave a Reply

